About CSAE
Honours and Awards: 2015 Leadership Awards
Each year, CSAE is proud to recognize and honour those individuals and organizations who have demonstrated significant accomplishments, exemplary leadership and tireless commitment to Canada’s association community. We invite you to join us in celebrating the contributions made by your associates and fellow professionals.

Please check below for information regarding submission for the 2015 Leadership Awards.
Important Notes
  • Nominations and submissions should be marked 'Confidential' and sent to Paige Luet, CHRP,  Administrative Assistant at paige@csae.com or by mail to:

Paige Luet Canadian Society of Association Executives 10 King Street East, Suite 1100 Toronto, ON M5C 1C3

  • Awards will be bestowed throughout the CSAE National Conference & Showcase, Wednesday, October 28 to Friday, October 30, 2015 in Calgary
  • Each award has a distinct application process and form, available below
  • Not all awards are bestowed every year
  • The confidential selection process is conducted by independent CSAE volunteers and their decision is final
  • Application deadline is Friday, July 10, 2015

More information on each available award is below.

Individual Awards – by Nomination Only

To be considered for an award in this category, you must be nominated. Choose an award below to review nomination requirements and download required forms.

Pinnacle Award (Executive Member)

The Pinnacle Award is designed to recognize exceptional and outstanding leadership and represents a very significant milestone in an executive member’s career. Recipients have achieved prominence for the credit they bring to association leadership and the association community.

 Get more information and the nomination form

Griner Award (Business Member)

This award recognizes the significant contributions that business members make to CSAE and association management. These contributions reflect the enhancement of association management and/or CSAE’s profile and organizational effectiveness.Named in honour of the late John Griner, CAE, who was an exemplary association executive, this award is bestowed on outstanding business members.

 Get more information and the nomination form

Honorary Award of Excellence

The CSAE Honorary Award of Excellence is designed to recognize a member’s sustained commitment and outstanding contribution to CSAE for a minimum of 10 years on a national and/or

for contributions to a local chapter for a minimum of 10 years based with a demonstrated and effective involvement at that level. The ten-year contribution may also be a combination of service at both levels. Nominees have achieved prominence through their sustained commitment to CSAE.

Get more information and the nomination form


Donna Mary Shaw Award

This Award is named in honour of the late Donna Mary Shaw, a well-respected CSAE colleague known for her interest in association management, youth and mentoring. Initiated by her many friends and colleagues as an endowment fund through CSAE’s Foundation in 1996, the Society now confers this Award on behalf of the Foundation. 

Get more information and the nomination form


Organizational Awards – By Application

Associations Make a Better Canada

The Associations Make A Better Canada Awards recognize CSAE member organizations that have initiated innovative projects resulting in positive outcomes in the areas of public education/information, public affairs/government relations, professional development and education, and ethical, technical or professional standards.

Get more information and the application form

Communications Awards of Excellence

The Communication Awards of Excellence acknowledge and celebrate outstanding examples of successful communications vehicles created by CSAE member organizations. Categories are Best Publication (Print or Electronic), Best Electronic Newsletter and best Website.

Get more information and the entry form

Long-Term Service Award

The Canadian Society of Association Executives recognizes those individuals who have been members of the Society for a period of twenty (20) years or more. Recipients receive a pin and certificate noting their years of support. (This Award was presented for the first time at the 2002 CSAE National Conference & Showcase).

Get more information


2014 Leadership Awards

Congratulations to these CSAE members on earning the following awards, presented in Niagara Falls, Ontario at the CSAE 2014 National Conference & Showcase.

  • Griner Award - Hester Whatman
  • Donna Mary Shaw Award - Maddy Marchildon and Natalie Wallace
  • Pinnacle Award - Michel G. Tremblay, CAE
  • CSAE 2013/2014 Chapter of the Year - Ottawa-Gatineau Chapter